Skip Navigation

Puerto Rico's East Region

This region is home of El Yunque, known as the Caribbean National Forest, is located in the rugged Sierra de Luquillo, 40 km southeast of San Juan. Catch the ferry from Fajardo to the outlying islands of Vieques and Culebra, both known for their secluded beaches, snorkeling spots and spectacular views. A must see is the phosphorescent Mosquito Bay. This rare and remarkable phenomenon is caused by millions of luminescent dinoflagellates lighthing up when disturbed by movement. The region is also famous for its fresh local seafood and romantic sunsets.

The east region consists of 17 cities:

Popular Attractions
  1. Natural Reserve of Mosquito, Vieques
  2. Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve, Fajardo
  3. Laguna Grande (Bioluminescent Bay), Fajardo
  4. Humacao Nature Reserve, Humacao
  5. Luquillo Beach, Luquillo

[an error occurred while processing this directive]