Skip Navigation

Puerto Rico's Metropolitan Area

The capital of the island lies within the metropolitan area. San Juan is the center of commerce and is also the main port of entry. This is the most populous and economically diverse region in the island. It is popular with tourists because offers the island's major resorts and shopping areas. With the widest variety of accommodations, the metropolitan area promises you a wonderful experience of diversity and culture. It has lots to offer -- archaeological and historical exhibitions, beautiful beaches, forests, and fine dining.

Puerto Rico's metropolitan area consists of seven cities:

Popular Attractions
  1. Historic Old San Juan District, San Juan
  2. San Felipe del Morro, San Juan
  3. Condado and Isla Verde Resort Hotels
  4. San Juan Museum of Art and History, San Juan
  5. Luis A. Ferre Science Park, Bayamon

Did You Know?

Although Puerto Rico is an unincorporated territory of the United States classified as a commonwealth, many Puerto Ricans consider it to be a country in and of itself.