Skip Navigation

Mayagüez, Puerto Rico


Mayagüez is known as "La Sultana del Oeste" (the sultana of the West). Founded in 1760 by Faustino Martínez de Matos, Juan de Silva and Juan de Aponte.

Originally named "Our Lady of the Candelaria of Mayagüez", but dwindling tradition from the Indian name of its river, the Yagüez River (the word means "clear waters") the city was eventually named just Mayagüez. Mayagüez (pronounced Mah-yah-goo-ehz or Mah-yah-GWEHZ) is a variation on this name, which means "Land of the Clear Waters".

Today, Mayagüez is the fifth-largest city and is considered one of the most important cities in the island. The city itself is centered around the impressive Spanish-style Plaza Colon, a tribute to Christopher Columbus, whose stature stands in the middle of the square, surrounded by 16 bronze statues.

University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez

In addition, Mayagüez has become a major college town because with the establishment of the UPRM, the Eugenio Maria de Hostos Law School and the Pontiff Catholic University of Puerto Rico.

Among Mayagüez's main attractions you will find the Yagüez Theater and Mayagüez Post Office, which are considered historic landmark buildings, both located on McKinley Street.

Mayagüez is home of the only Zoo in the island, Juan A. Rivero Zoo (commonly known as Mayagüez Zoo), home of numerous birds, mammals and reptiles (including Bengal tigers, and Andean condors among others). Cages and open compounds stand in an attractively landscaped setting of small islands, a lake, tropical vegetation and children's playground. Open Wed-Sun from 8:30am to 4:00pm. (787) 834-8110.

Sunset in Mayaguez
Jeannette Altiery

The Tropical Agricultural Research Station located at University of Puerto Rico host many species of exotic plants and trees such as the traveler's tree, shower of orchids, ceylon cinnamon and pink torch ginger. Self-guided tours are available. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am to 4:00pm. (787) 831-3435.

Notable People

There are many well-known "mayagüezanos", among them:

  • educator, writer and political leader Eugenio María de Hostos
  • singer (Armando Hipólito) Chucho Avellanet
  • Juan Mari Bras
  • journalist Carmen Jovet
  • news announcer Luz Nereida Velez
  • former governor Roberto Sánchez Vilella
  • former Mayagüez Mayor, Benjamin Cole, whom served for 24 years in a row as mayor of the city


    [an error occurred while processing this directive]


    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Festivals and Events

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]


Mayaguez Flag

Anthem: Mi patria es un oasis...


There are 38 public schools in Mayaguez, education is handled by the Puerto Rico Department of Education. Mayaguez is also home of 7 colleges and universities.


Mayagüez is located in the west coast, north of Cabo Rojo, Hormigueros and San Germán; south of Añasco; and west of Las Marías and Maricao.

Mayaguez is made up of 21 barrios (wards/districts):

  • Algarrobo
  • Bateyes
  • Guanajibo
  • Juan Alonso
  • Leguísamo
  • Limón
  • Malezas
  • Mayagüez
  • Arriba
  • Miradero
  • Montoso
  • Naranjales
  • Pueblo
  • Quebrada Grande
  • Quemado
  • Río Cañas Abajo
  • Río Cañas Arriba
  • Río Hondo
  • Rosarío
  • Sábalos
  • Sabanetas

There are several rivers that run through Mayaguez. These rivers include Río Grande Anasco, Canas, Yaguez, Rosario, and Guanajibo.


Annual precipitation is approximately 39 inches and the average temperature is 76 F. On average, May is the wettest month, February is the driest month and July is the warmest month.

10 Day Forecast

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]