] What is the Currency of Puerto Rico?

Skip Navigation

What is the Currency of Puerto Rico?

Since Puerto Rico is part of the United States, the island's currency is the US dollar. Puerto Rico relies on the U.S. government to print money and to manage the money supply via the U.S. Federal Reserve and the Central Bank.

The US dollar is divided into 100 cents (¢) and referred by locals as "peso".

Coins: 1¢, called the centavo or chavito (penny); 5¢, called the vellón or ficha (nickel); 10¢ (dime); 25¢, called the peseta (quarter); and the seldom-seen 50¢ (half-dollar) coin and $1.

Bills: $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, $500, $1,000, $5,000, and $10,000. On July 14, 1969, the Treasury Department and the Federal Reserve Board announced that they would immediately stop distributing currency in denominations of $500, $1,000, $5,000 and $10,000. Production of these denominations stopped during World War II. Their main purpose was for bank transfer payments.

Additional Resources

Did You Know?

The Cuatro is the national instrument of Puerto Rico.