Skip Navigation

Estado Libre Associate (ELA)

Commonwealth is a term the United States uses to refer to insular areas, a Commonwealth is a type of organized but unincorporated dependent territory. There are currently only two United States insular areas with the status of commonwealth, the Northern Mariana Islands and Puerto Rico.

The term was first used by Puerto Rico in 1952 as "Commonwealth of Puerto Rico". The name in Spanish for Puerto Rico is "Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico," ("Free Associated State of Puerto Rico").

Did You Know?

In, 1994, Juan Mari Bras renounced his U.S. citizenship before a consular agent in the US Embassy of Venezuela for Puerto Rican citizenship.