Rio Grande

(REE-o GRAHN-de)

Río Grande is known as La Ciudad del Yunque (Yunque city). Río Grande was founded in July 25, 1840 by Deriderio Brothers and Quilimaco Escobar.

The town was named after the great river that bathe its lands, Río Grande.

Río Grande is located in the Northern Coastal Valley, only 30 minutes from San Juan. North of Las Piedras, Naguabo and Ceiba; east of Loíza and Canóvanas and west of Luquillo.

There are many well-known riograndeños, among them: Franciso Mojica, Jesus Parilla Calderon, Eugenio Guerra, José Reymundi, Ovidio de Jesus Uriguen, Enrique Calderon, Agustin Guerra, Manuel Siaca Rivera, Cecilia Arnaldi de Olmeda, and Carmen Reyes Padro.

Rio Grande is made up of 9 barrios (wards/districts):

  • Cienega Alta
  • Ciénaga Baja
  • Guzmán Abajo
  • Guzmán Arriba
  • Herreras
  • Jiménez
  • Mameyes II
  • Pueblo
  • Zarzal

Things to See and Do In Rio Grande

Want to know what to see and do in Rio Grande? Discover few ideas for exploring and enjoying the city.

What to Do and See?

Where to Eat?

Where to Stay?

Festivals and Events

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]


Rio Grande Flag Rio Grande Coat of Arms

Anthem: Entre las ondas que juguetean...


There are 17 public schools in Rio Grande, education is handled by the Puerto Rico Department of Education.


10 Day Forecast

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Did You Know?

Puerto Rican Coffee was served in official state dinners at the White House. Under President Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909), Puerto Rican coffee formed part of every White House breakfast.