Guayanilla is known as "El Pueblo que Corre en Yegua" (mare riders). Guayanilla was founded in February 27, 1833, by order of Governor Miguel de la Torre. Guayanilla derives its name from an Indian term: "Guaynia".

Agueybana who was the principal "Cacique" (chief) of the Tainos when the Spaniards first arrived and lived with his tribe in "Guaynia" (Guayanilla) located by the river of the same name. However, others claim that the location of the village was in Guánica.

Guayanilla is located in southern coast of the island, bordering the Caribbean Sea, south of Adjuntas, east of Yauco; and west of Peñuelas. Its rivers are: Guayanilla, Macaná and Yauco.

The surrounding areas produces sugar cane.

There are many well-known "guayanillenses", among them: Isaias Rodriguez Lopéz, Eustaqui Pagan, Dalilla Torres, Heriberto Torres, Alfredo Medona, Aristides Cales Quiros, and Rafael D. Dapena.

Land Area: 109 sq km (42.2 sq mi)
Water Area: 21.95 sq mi
Population: 27,255
Density: 210.3 per sq km (546.7 per sq mi)
Housing Units: 8,147
Housing Density: 192.3
Per Capita Income: $5,954
Source: 2000 Census
Hymn: Guayanillenses, cantemos unidos...
Coordinates:    Latitude: 18°01' N   Longitude: 66°48' W
Wards: Barrero, Boca, Cedro, Consejo, Indios, Jagua, Jagua Pasto, Llano, Macaná, Magas, Pasto, Playa, Quebrada Honda, Quebradas, Pueblo, Rufina and Sierra Baja.
Driving Distance: 91.3 miles *
Driving Time: 2 hours, 8 minutes *

Quick Links

* The distance was calculated from San Juan.

Book your Trip!

Did You Know?

Atlantic Standard Time (AST, GMT-4, Zone Q) comprises Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.