Cidra is known as "El Pueblo de la Eterna Primavera" (the town of the eternal spring) or "El Pueblo de la Paloma Sabanera". Cidra was founded in 1809.

Cidra is located in the central region of the island, north of Cayey; south of Comerío and Aguas Buenas; east of Aibonito; and west of Caguas. Its rivers are: Bayamón, de la Plata and Arroyata. The annual precipitation is approximately 63.38 inches and the average temperature is 81.2ºF.

There are many well-known "cidreños", among them: writer Benjamín López.

Land Area: 94 sq km (36.1 sq mi)
Water Area: 0.42 sq km
Population: 42,753
Density: 454.8 per sq km (1,184.2 per sq mi)
Housing Units: 14,267
Housing Density: 395.3
Per Capita Income: $7,877
Source: 2000 Census
Hymn: Del corazón de Puerto Rico nació Cidra
Wards: Arenas, Bayamón, Beatriz, Ceiba, Monte Llano, Pueblo, Rabanal, Rincón, Río Abajo, Salto, Sud and Toita.
Driving Distance: 29.6 miles *
Driving Time: 1 hour, 1 minute *

Interesting Facts

    You can find in this town the house of "La Paloma Sabanera" the only bird in Puerto Rico with blue eyes, because of this the government protect this specie and is classified in danger of extinction.

Quick Links

* The distance was calculated from San Juan.

Book your Trip!

Did You Know?

The Bermuda Triangle is an area roughly bounded by Miami, Bermuda, and Puerto Rico.